Oh The History!

2 years ago Events

This championship-winning 1994 Dodge IROC race car (Lot #694) was restored in 2016. The chassis was originally built by Banjo Matthews for use in the 1984 IROC Camaro race cars. This car/chassis (#4) performed in 31 IROC races as a Camaro, then as a Daytona and finally as an Avenger. When IROC switched to Dodge Daytonas in 1990, the chassis was retrofitted with Dodge power and the Daytona body. Finally, in 1994, the IROC race cars were all fitted with the Dodge Avenger bodies, as shown by this example.

This car retains one of the original IROC Dodge 355ci race engines with 9:1 compression, with only 45 hours of runtime since it was last rebuilt by Ilmore Engineering; receipt included. The Richmond Super T10 4-speed manual transmission and Stock Car Products quick-change rear end are also authentic IROC components, also with low hours. This car is ready for the track or display. It is currently set up in road course configuration, but since its restoration, it has only been used for car shows and cruise-ins.

Regarding its racing history, Mark Martin won at Darlington in ’94 and Dale Earnhardt Sr. won at Talladega in ’95, both driving this car. Earnhardt clinched the championship in 1995 with his win in this car at Talladega in a nail-biting finish. Neil Bonnet and Geoff Brabham drove this car to victories, as well. This car was recently restored back to its 1995 race appearance (aside from some minor mechanical upgrades) and the passenger seat was retained.

During the restoration, the driver history was provided by former IROC officials based upon the original stamped chassis numbers, body component ID numbers and the original 1994 tan race paint uncovered throughout the car. This car is highly documented, including records showing that these world-famous drivers, among others, have raced in this car: Gordon Johncock, A.J. Foyt, Geoff Brabham, Derek Bell, Ken Schrader, Scott Pruett, Mark Martin, Al Unser Sr., Dale Earnhardt Sr., Terry Labonte, Harry Gant, Hurley Haywood, Rusty Wallace, Scott Kinser, Danny Sullivan, Bobby Rahal, Jochen Mass, Neil Bonnett, Tom Kendall, Bob Wollek, Darrell Waltrip, Roberto Guerrero and Juan Manuel Fangio II. **NOT STREET LEGAL** **SOLD ON BILL OF SALE**



More Events Articles