The NHRA Countdown to the Championship Continues with the Carolina Nationals

3 years ago Racing

The NHRA Countdown to the Championship kicked off last weekend at the Mopar® Express Lane NHRA Nationals Presented by Pennzoil and there’s no way we could’ve predicted the events that unfolded in the Funny Car race. While Matt Hagan was battling a COVID-19 diagnosis, veteran Funny Car driver Tommy Johnson Jr. graciously stepped into the drivers seat of Hagan’s car, clawing his way up to the winner’s circle giving him the Wally and Hagan the points for the win. Tommy’s win also allowed Hagan to jump from the #5 spot to the #2 spot.

“It’s pretty amazing, actually,” said Johnson. “I got a call a week ago after I’ve been sitting on the sidelines for 10 months, saying ‘we need you.’ To come back and up your game that good, I mean, (Crew Chief) Dickie (Venables) and the guys have been racing all season, while I haven’t been doing anything. I thank them for the opportunity. They rose to the challenge and dove in and made me fit in this car and made everything happen.”

This week, the DSR team is headed to Concord, North Carolina, for the DeWalt NHRA Carolina Nationals where Leah Pruett will compete in Top Fuel while Matt Hagan and Ron Capps put the pedal to the metal to secure a win in Funny Car. As we’ve seen throughout the season, it’s anyone’s game and there’s no doubt the DSR team are putting all their chips on the table and rolling the dice for the win!

Below are the standings going into this weekend’s race.

NHRA Championship Points Standings:
Following the Mopar Express Lane Nationals Presented by Pennzoil at Maple Grove Raceway

FUNNY CAR (season wins in parentheses)
1. John Force – 2,172 (3)
2. Matt Hagan/Tommy Johnson Jr. (Dodge Charger SRT® Hellcat) – 2,167 (2/1)
3. Ron Capps (Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat) – 2,157 (1)
4. J.R. Todd – 2,133 (1)
5. Robert Hight – 2,121 (2)
6. Bob Tasca III – 2,106 (2)
7. Cruz Pedregon (Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat) – 2,083 (1)
8. Alexis DeJoria – 2,063
9. Tim Wilkerson – 2,048 (1)
10. Blake Alexander – 2,032

TOP FUEL (season wins in parentheses)
1. Steve Torrence – 2,179 (8)
2. Brittany Force – 2,167 (1)
3. Billy Torrence – 2,137 (2)
4. Justin Ashley – 2,124
5. Leah Pruett (Mopar Dodge//SRT) – 2,113 (1)
6. Antron Brown – 2,103 (1)
7. Shawn Langdon – 2,102
8. Mike Salinas – 2,078
9. Clay Millican – 2,067
10. Doug Kalitta – 2,032



More Racing Articles